Official Website of the Essendon District Football League

2017 Team of the Year – Strathmore Community Bank Division 2

Final 22 Revealed

COBURG Districts’ outstanding home-and-away season has been recognised by the coaches in the Strathmore Community Bank Division 2 Team of the Year.

Six Lions have been included in the final side, edging out Grand Final opponent and eventual premier, Jacana, who have four players in the 22.

Premiership captain Mick Evans (Jacana) is the captain of the side while Robert Fletcher (Jacana) has been named coach.

This year, the coaches managed to find room for players from all eight Division 2 clubs.

Wooden-spooner Keilor Park is represented by Peter Corredig, the most popular choice for full back, while second-last Burnside Heights has goal-kicker Josh Covelli in the forward pocket.

Jacana’s Cameron Cloke was the unanimous choice for full forward after snaring 112 home-and-away goals.

In total, all of the division’s top five leading goal kickers made the final side.

It is also a very different side from that of last year’s, with only eight members from the 2016 Strathmore Community Bank Division 2 Team of the Year making the cut for 2017.


Download the side here.

B: Braden Padmore (MV), Peter Corredig (KP), Jack Elliott (ROX)

HB: Tom Cree (ES), Ricky McGill (CD), Spencer Aitken (CD)

C: Tom Lucin (CD), Eliot Kako (NS), Nikolas Dimseki (CD)

HF: Justin Colliss (JAC), Luke Vesnaver (CD), Mohamed Taleb (NS)

F: Josh Covelli (BH), Cameron Cloke (JAC), Tom Burnside (ES)

R: Billy Morrison (JAC), Mick Evans (JAC), Ned Wilson (MV)

I/C: Harley Short (ROX), Arthur Lamaris (CD), Kelsey Clayton (NS), Hayden Farrelly (ROX)

COACH: Robert Fletcher (JAC)

CAPTAIN: Mick Evans (JAC)


As per last year’s regulations, the Strathmore Community Bank Division 2 Team of the Year was compiled by the accumulation of each senior coach’s selections for Team of the Year.

All eight senior coaches in Strathmore Community Bank Division 2 were invited to submit their Teams of the Year, based on 2017 home-and-away season performances.

Finals performances were not to be considered.

Players with the most overall selections were then placed into their positions based on where they were most often selected by each coach.

*Tomorrow - Essendon Ford Division 1 Team of the Year revealed.

EDFL Partners