Official Website of the Essendon District Football League

2017 Strathmore Community Bank Premier Division Team of the Year

Final 22 Revealed

MORE than a quarter of the 2017 Strathmore Community Bank Premier Division Team of the Year is made up of Aberfeldie players.

This year's premiers have had six players chosen by the division's senior coaches, with eight of the 10 Premier Division clubs represented in the final 22.

After being forced to watch from the sidelines in 2016, Aberfeldie's Luke Davis has been named captain of the side while two-time premiership mentor Adam Potter is this year's coach. 

Maribyrnong Park is well-represented this year with four players chosen in the side - just edging out fellow Preliminary Finalist, Greenvale with three.

Despite missing finals, Keilor has done well with three reps this year, including first-timer Jason Williams at half forward.

Both of Strathmore's reps were new to their line-up this year, with both Luke Jarrad and Jaryd Cachia getting the nod from the coaches.

Competition for spots was fierce this year.

Overall, 18 of this year's 22 selected players received at least six votes out of 10, and only two reps unanimously got the nod from all 10 coaches.

The remaining four players each had five votes out of 10.

One other player with five votes was agonisingly squeezed out of the final 22.

All other players who missed out had four votes or less.


Download the side here.

B: Josh Toy (ABF), Nick Parthenopoulos (GRV), Caleb Vearing (MP)

HB: Luke Jarrad (STR), Ryan Allan (ABF), Luke Davis (ABF)

C: Dean Soncin (PV), Jaryd Cachia (STR), Will Martiniello (MP)

HF: Zach Hislop (ABF), Jacob Thompson (GRV), Jason Williams (KE)

F: Patrick Rose (AVH), Dean Galea (KE), Kyle Reimers (ABF)

R: Cameron Wood (AVH), Luke Blackwell (ABF), Addam Maric (GRV)

I/C: Zac Keogh (MP), Jack Landt (EDS), Kane Barbuto (KE), John McKenzie (MP)

COACH: Adam Potter (ABF)

CAPTAIN: Luke Davis (ABF)


As per last year’s regulations, the Strathmore Community Bank Premier Division Team of the Year was compiled by the accumulation of each senior coach’s selections for Team of the Year.

All 10 senior coaches in Strathmore Community Bank Premier Division were invited to submit their Teams of the Year, based on 2017 home-and-away season performances.

Finals performances were not to be considered.

Players with the most overall selections were then placed into their positions based on where they were most often selected by each coach.

EDFL Partners