Official Website of the Essendon District Football League

North West AFCA Coach Of The Year Awards

Presented By Mark Morgan & Shane Abdilla

AT last week’s EDFL Awards, the Region’s outstanding coaches for 2018 were recognised with the awarding of our North West AFCA Coach of the Year awards in our respective categories.

These winners are not selected purely based on their win/loss ratio throughout the season, but their overall contribution to Community Football, ability to create a positive environment and develop players under their tutelage, and the strength of character they display whilst coaching.

Nominees and winners in all categories were as follows:



Brett Aylmer - Tullamarine Auskick Centre

David Brooks - Keilor Auskick Centre

Molly Gregory - Essendon Auskick Centre

Winner: David Brooks - Keilor Auskick Centre

JUNIOR (U8’s - U12’s)


Troy Fleming - Ascot Vale FC U11’s

Aaron Wyka - Keilor Park FC U11’s

Lewis Cross - Coburg FC U9’s

Brenton Fitzsimmons - Hillside FC U11’s

Chris Humphries - Coburg FC U9’s

Winner: Aaron Wyka - Keilor Park FC

YOUTH (U13’s - U17’s)


Darren Sheridan - Avondale Heights FC U13’s

Luke Mahoney - Moonee Valley FC U13’s

Richard Dowsett - Roxburgh Park FC Youth Girls

Winner: Darren Sheridan - Avondale Heights FC



Phil Poursanidis - Maribyrnong Park FC U18 Girls

Peter Labbad - Tullamarine FC U19’s

Claire Heffernan - Aberfeldie FC Senior Womens

Anthony Montrose - Tullamarine FC U18’s

Winner: Claire Heffernan - Aberfeldie FC

FEMALE (Female coach of any age group)


Abigail Storer - Coburg Districts FC U11 Girls

Kim Hansen - Craigieburn Auskick Centre

Winner: Abigail Storer - Coburg Districts FC

Congratulations to all nominees and winners, and thank you to all of our hard working Community Coaches for the contribution you make to our great game.

EDFL Partners